Skip to Content

Governor Newsom Issues New Stay at Home Order

Thu Dec. 3rd, 2020 PTWWW Legal Alert

Many California businesses will close or limit capacity in the coming days as part of a new stay-at-home order that’s triggered when fewer than 15% of ICU beds are available in a region.

Unlike previous restrictions in California, the new stay-at-home order focuses on five different regions in lieu of counties. The five regions are: Northern California, Greater Sacramento, Bay Area, San Joaquin Valley and Southern California. The Southern California region includes the following counties: Imperial, Inyo, Los Angeles, Mono, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura

Once in effect, the order will stay in place for at least three weeks. A region will have 48 hours to implement the new rules.

Sectors that will be closed include: bars, wineries, personal services, hair salons and barbershops. Retail stores will be limited to 20% capacity and restaurants will only be allowed to offer to-go orders and delivery. Schools in regions where the stay-at-home order is imposed may be able to stay open based on decisions by local governments.

“Critical infrastructure” businesses are permitted to remain open when a remote option is not possible with appropriate infectious disease preventative measures including 100% masking and physical distancing.

If you have any questions regarding the new order or whether your business is critical infrastructure, please do not hesitate to reach out.

(949) 851-7271
(949) 851-7288